What is Krav Maga?

Krav Maga, meaning in Hebrew “contact fight”, is the official system of self defence of the Israeli Defence Forces (IDF) and other security services. It was first developed in the 1940’s by Imi Sde-Or (Lichtenfeld) during his career in the military as Chief Instructor of hand-to-hand combat with the IDF.

Imi was faced with the need to quickly train Israeli soldiers from a wide variety of backgrounds, from physically fit high school graduates to out-of-shape reserve soldiers in their forties. Thus he developed a system that relied on simple instinctive movements rather than complicated techniques requiring years of training. With the passing of Imi in 1998, Eyal Yanilov is now the Chief Instructor (Master Level 3/Expert Level 8) of Krav Maga Global (KMG) based in Netanya, Israel.

What does the Krav Maga system cover?

Krav Maga contains the core skills of all major combat systems from standing striking techniques to locks and throws, ground fighting, stick and knife fighting. It is especially strong in the higher risk, life-threatening scenarios. This reflects its origins as a system designed to meet the present day security threats. Students train not just in a gym setting but also in challenging circumstances such as dark surroundings, in sitting or lying positions, or in adverse circumstances where the ability to move is severely impeded such as hallways, small rooms and cars.

Krav Maga has four streams; civilian, law enforcement, VIP / third party protection and military. In our main classes we teach only the civilian and third party protection material as only these are open to civilians. Material from the other streams is restricted to professionals in those respective fields.

Note: The video above of military training in Russia is included only to give you a sense of the breadth of the KMG system in terms of range of subjects and global reach of the KMG system. You will NOT be taught this material. It is for military personnel ONLY. However you may see Ilya the principal instructor in the video as he comes to Australia regularly and has conducted instructor courses and workshops at SDT in Adelaide.

What is the Structure of the Krav Maga System?

The ranking system of Krav Maga is divided into 4 sections:

  • Practitioner Levels (1-5)
  • Graduate Levels (1-5)
  • Expert Levels (1-5)
  • Master Levels (1-3)

Expert Level 1 is the rough equivalent of a ‘black belt’ and is the first level of ranking of a full Krav Maga instructor.

Eyal Yanilov – Chief Instructor of KMG

Eyal Yanilov studied Krav Maga under the personal tutelage of its founder, Imi Side-Or (Lichtenfeld), and has served as his closest assistant and foremost student since the early 1980s. Active in this field since 1973, he is now its most senior instructor.

Eyal is the only individual who carries the highest grade ever given by Imi (Master level 3/Expert level 8) and holds the unique “Founder’s Diploma of Excellence”. This diploma was given only to two persons, the other – one of Eyal’s top students, Mr. Darren Levine, Expert level 6, of the United States). He is currently serving as Chairman and Chief Instructor of KMG.